Skip to Main Content

Gaming Framework Agreement

The Province of Saskatchewan and the Federation of Sovereign Indigenous Nations (FSIN) signed a 25-year Gaming Framework Agreement on June 11, 2002, replacing the original agreement from 1995.

The Gaming Framework Agreement between the province and the FSIN allows for the continued operation of casinos in the province through the Saskatchewan Indian Gaming Authority (SIGA). 
SIGA casinos are located in North Battleford, Prince Albert, Yorkton, Swift Current, Lloydminster, on the White Bear First Nation near Carlyle and on the Whitecap Dakota First Nation south of Saskatoon. SLGA is responsible for co-ordinating implementation of the agreement on behalf of the province.

Following a review by the province and the FSIN, the Gaming Framework Agreement was amended effective June 11, 2007. The amendments included changes to the casino revenue sharing formula, improved accountability provisions respecting the operation of Community Development Corporations and increased funding for problem gambling awareness, prevention and treatment.

Amendments were made to the Gaming Framework Agreement on November 10, 2004 and again on January 13, 2005 to allow for SIGA casinos on the Whitecap Dakota First Nation and in Swift Current.

On May 21, 2014 an amendment was made increasing the maximum number of electronic gaming machines allowable at all SIGA casinos and VLT sites from 1,870 to 2,120.

On August 22, 2016 the agreement was again amended to allow development of a SIGA operated casino in Lloydminster.

View the consolidated Gaming Framework Agreement.

In response to reduced projected casino profit as a result of public health measures taken in response to COVID-19, the Province and FSIN entered into a Letter of Understanding (LOU) on June 19, 2020 suspending the revenue sharing provisions for the 2020/21 fiscal year.  In addition, the LOU provides for an alternate funding arrangement for the GFA beneficiaries. An additional Letter of Understanding was signed for the 2021/22 fiscal year.